Home Adults Teens Kids Events
About Your Library
Memberships & Borrowing
Library News
Find Books...and More
Library Services
Support Your Library
Genealogy/Local History
FAQ
Adults
Teens
Kids Website
Healthy Families Centre
Revised:2010-02-09

Databases

Peterborough Public Library cardholders have access to a variety of magazine, news and information databases 24 hours a day. We also have databases specifically designed for children, including TumbleBooks, a collection of read-aloud picture books.

Genealogists will be happy to explore our two genealogy databases: Ancestry Library Edition and Heritage Quest. Ancestry Library Edition is available during library hours at either the Internet Stations or through a tab at our catalogue computers. Heritage Quest is available 24 hours a day.

Our databases may be accessed below or through our library catalogue.
  • If accessing through the library catalogue, be sure to click on the subject heading in the blue menu bar below the file folder tabs.
  • If required, enter your entire library card Barcode number (with no spaces). This is your password to these databases.
  • If you would like assistance in choosing or searching the databases, please call the Information Desk (745-5382 ext. 2340 or 2350).
If you have an iPhone, try out the Accessmylibrary app for access to our Gale databases.
Accessmylibray iPhone app





Resource Ontario ImageIf you appreciate many of the databases below that come to us through provincial funding of Knowledge Ontario (such as Ancestry, InfoTrac, and Health & Wellness) fill out a postcard and let the Ontario government know how important these resources are to public libraries.



Alphabetical List

A-D
E-H
I-L
M-P
Q-T
U-Z

A-D

Academic OneFile

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

EBSCO Health Logo

Alt Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition
Includes birth, marriage and death records; church records; military records; court, land and probate records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Offers care, diagnostic and repair information for foreign and domestic vehicles (1945 to the present).

Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides coverage of a wide range of company, product, and industry information appearing in over 500 Canadian popular magazines and business periodicals, as well as eight daily newspapers. Some popular magazines include the Economist, Financial Post Magazine, Newsweek, Time, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone, Psychology Today, Science News, Popular Science and Popular Mechanics.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Provides information on 100 key topics to Canadian researchers, with an overview, point, counterpoint and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and more.

Includes leading Canadian and international periodicals in full text; full text reference books, biographies and an image collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. Featured full-text newspapers include the Toronto Star, the Hamilton Spectator and La Presse.

Career Cruising
An interactive career guide featuring multimedia interviews with real people in every career, in-depth occupational profiles and comprehensive information on colleges and universities.

CEDROM-Sni News
Includes full-text article access to 20 English newspapers from Ontario, including the Peterborough Examiner (Archives start 03/27/2000), Belleville Intelligencer, Kingston-Whig Standard, Port Hope Evening Guide, and more. Also includes full-text article access to 11 French language news sources, including L'Actualite, Le Devoir, Le Droit, La Presse and more.

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, and more.

Canadian and international journals, magazines, some sections of the Globe and Mail, biographies, and more.

Customized Research Collections (Gale)
Search the following targeted subject areas:

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource.
Top

E-H

Masterfile Premier
Covering virtually every subject area of general interest -- over 1,700 periodical sources as well as nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,017 biographies, 105,786 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 341,655 photos, maps and flags.

This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. Also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.

Enclopedia Brittanica

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Reference Center
Includes: Encyclopædia Britannica®, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Quotations,and a World Atlas. World Data Analyst provides comprehensive statistical analysis of countries around the world. Gateway to the Classics provides selected short stories, plays, essays, letters and extracts of well known classic writers.

e-Library
Over 1,030 Canadian and International Magazines, journals, newspapers, newswires, encyclopedias, almanacs, and more. Includes full-text of National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Hamilton Spectator, Toronto Star, Windsor Star, and more.

e-Library Elementary
More than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, plus audio/video titles, all tailored for the elementary school researcher.

Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Contains over 200,000 company profiles; thousands of investment reports; late-breaking news and event coverage on companies, industries, products and executives and the latest in business theory, economics and favored practices.

GALE OF

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Includes more than 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.

For general interest - includes a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and more.

Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, and general interest publications.

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Includes PERSI (Periodical Source Index), covering more than 6,300 genealogy and history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800.
Top

I-L

Includes a wide range of local newspapers in full-text including Peterborough This Week, Kawartha Lakes This Week, Northumberland News, Oshawa This Week, (02/2008 to present). US newspapers include the Washington Post and the New York Times.

For students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

Over 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion, philosophy, archaeology and anthropology.

Designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.

EBSCO Kids Search
Includes: Primary Search - full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research; EBSCO Animals - Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage Children's Dictionary

Includes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Top

M-P

Delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher.

Indexes for New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.

Novelist
Allows readers to find fiction titles that are similar to their favourite authors or on their favourite subjects; over 1,299 theme-oriented booklists, 160 award lists and 1,800 fiction related web sites.

Novelist K-8
Discover fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
Top

Q-T

More than 525 full-text magazines including 200 Canadian periodicals, nearly 1000 biographies on famous Canadians, 400 new essays by Canadian writers and comprehensive coverage of nearly 300 Canadian authors.

Teen Health & Wellness
Includes information on health topics of interst to teens -- diseases, drugs and alcohol, mental and emotional health, cy-ber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more.

TPL Virtual Reference Library
Search the Internet by locating websites and internet search engines selected by Toronto Public Library staff; use subject gateways to explore subjects in depth discover the Library Resources at TPL by searching catalogues, indexes, databases and digital collections.

TumbleBooks
e-books for children
Top

U-Z

World Book Kids
Continually updated, World Book Student is a student's best source for accurate and accessible information. This comprehensive site includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more.
World Book Student
Continually updated, World Book Student is a student's best source for accurate and accessible information. This comprehensive site includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more.

Search by Subject

Academic & Professional
Business
Car & Small Engine Repair
Employment
Health
Kids
Genealogy
Reading & Literature
Magazines & Newspapers
Teens
Reference
Customized Research Collections
Academic & Professional

Academic OneFile

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, and more.

This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. Also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.

Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.

Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, and general interest publications.

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

Over 200 magazines and academic journals covering religion, philosophy, archaeology and anthropology.

Includes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

Delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher
Top
Business

Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides coverage of a wide range of company, product, and industry information appearing in over 500 Canadian popular magazines and business periodicals, as well as eight daily newspapers. Some popular magazines include the Economist, Financial Post Magazine, Newsweek, Time, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone, Psychology Today, Science News, Popular Science and Popular Mechanics.

Contains over 200,000 company profiles; thousands of investment reports; late-breaking news and event coverage on companies, industries, products and executives and the latest in business theory, economics and favored practices.
Top
Car & Small Engine Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center
Offers care, diagnostic and repair information for foreign and domestic vehicles (1945 to the present).
Top
Employment

Career Cruising
An interactive career guide featuring multimedia interviews with real people in every career, in-depth occupational profiles and comprehensive information on colleges and universities.
Top
Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition
Includes birth, marriage and death records; church records; military records; court, land and probate records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Includes PERSI (Periodical Source Index), covering more than 6,300 genealogy and history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800.
Top
Health

EBSCO Health Logo

Alt Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, and general interest publications.

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Teen Health & Wellness
Includes information on health topics of interst to teens -- diseases, drugs and alcohol, mental and emotional health, cy-ber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more.
Top
Kids

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource.

e-Library Elementary
More than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, plus audio/video titles, all tailored for the elementary school researcher.

For students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.

EBSCO Kids Search
Includes: Primary Search - full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research; EBSCO Animals - Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage Children's Dictionary

Novelist K-8
Discover fiction les that are popular with young readers.

TumbleBooks
e-books for children

World Book Kids
Contains every article from the 22-volume encyclopedia print set plus thousands more. Includes state-of-the art multimedia, editor-reviewed Web sites, and more!
Top
Reading & Literature

Novelist
Allows readers to find fiction titles that are similar to their favourite authors or on their favourite subjects; over 1,299 theme-oriented booklists, 160 award lists and 1,800 fiction related web sites.

Novelist K-8
Discover fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
Top
Magazines & Newspapers

GALE OF

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Includes more than 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides coverage of a wide range of company, product, and industry information appearing in over 500 Canadian popular magazines and business periodicals, as well as eight daily newspapers. Some popular magazines include the Economist, Financial Post Magazine, Newsweek, Time, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone, Psychology Today, Science News, Popular Science and Popular Mechanics.

Includes leading Canadian and international periodicals in full text; full text reference books, biographies and an image collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. Featured full-text newspapers include the Toronto Star, the Hamilton Spectator and La Presse.

Canadian and international journals, magazines, some sections of the Globe and Mail, biographies, and more.

CEDROM-Sni News
Includes full-text article access to 20 English newspapers from Ontario, including the Peterborough Examiner (Archives start 03/27/2000), Belleville Intelligencer, Kingston-Whig Standard, Port Hope Evening Guide, and more. Also includes full-text article access to 11 French language news sources, including L'Actualite, Le Devoir, Le Droit, La Presse and more.

e-Library
Over 1,030 Canadian and International Magazines, journals, newspapers, newswires, encyclopedias, almanacs, and more. Includes full-text of National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Hamilton Spectator, Toronto Star, Windsor Star, and more.

For general interest - includes a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and more.

Masterfile Premier
Covering virtually every subject area of general interest -- over 1,700 periodical sources as well as nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,017 biographies, 105,786 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 341,655 photos, maps and flags.

Includes a wide range of local newspapers in full-text including Peterborough This Week, Kawartha Lakes This Week, Northumberland News, Oshawa This Week, (02/2008 to present). US newspapers include the Washington Post and the New York Times.

Indexes for New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
Top
Teens

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Provides information on 100 key topics to Canadian researchers, with an overview, point, counterpoint and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and more.

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, timelines and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource.

Enclopedia Brittanica

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Reference Center
Includes: Encyclopædia Britannica®, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Quotations,and a World Atlas. World Data Analyst provides comprehensive statistical analysis of countries around the world. Gateway to the Classics provides selected short stories, plays, essays, letters and extracts of well known classic writers.

For students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

Designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.

More than 525 full-text magazines including 200 Canadian periodicals, nearly 1000 biographies on famous Canadians, 400 new essays by Canadian writers and comprehensive coverage of nearly 300 Canadian authors.

Teen Health & Wellness
Includes information on health topics of interst to teens -- diseases, drugs and alcohol, mental and emotional health, cy-ber-literacy, family life, sexuality and more.
World Book Student Encyclopedia World Book Student
Continually updated, World Book Student is a student's best source for accurate and accessible information. This comprehensive site includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more.
Top
Reference

Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Provides coverage of a wide range of company, product, and industry information appearing in over 500 Canadian popular magazines and business periodicals, as well as eight daily newspapers. Some popular magazines include the Economist, Financial Post Magazine, Newsweek, Time, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone, Psychology Today, Science News, Popular Science and Popular Mechanics.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Provides information on 100 key topics to Canadian researchers, with an overview, point, counterpoint and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics include the environment, human rights, race, substance abuse and more.

Includes leading Canadian and international periodicals in full text; full text reference books, biographies and an image collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. Featured full-text newspapers include the Toronto Star, the Hamilton Spectator and La Presse.

Canadian and international journals, magazines, some sections of the Globe and Mail, biographies, and more.

Masterfile Premier
Covering virtually every subject area of general interest -- over 1,700 periodical sources as well as nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,017 biographies, 105,786 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 341,655 photos, maps and flags.

Enclopedia Brittanica

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Reference Center
Includes: Encyclopædia Britannica®, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Quotations,and a World Atlas. World Data Analyst provides comprehensive statistical analysis of countries around the world. Gateway to the Classics provides selected short stories, plays, essays, letters and extracts of well known classic writers.

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Contains over 200,000 company profiles; thousands of investment reports; late-breaking news and event coverage on companies, industries, products and executives and the latest in business theory, economics and favored practices.

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Includes more than 25 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.

For general interest - includes a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and more.

TPL Virtual Reference Library
Search the Internet by locating websites and internet search engines selected by Toronto Public Library staff; use subject gateways to explore subjects in depth discover the Library Resources at TPL by searching catalogues, indexes, databases and digital collections.

World Book Reference Center
Contains every article from the 22-volume encyclopedia print set plus thousands more. Includes state-of-the art multimedia, editor-reviewed Web sites, and more!

Career Cruising
An interactive career guide featuring multimedia interviews with real people in every career, in-depth occupational profiles and comprehensive information on colleges and universities.
Top
Customized Research Collections
Search the following targeted subject areas:

Complete Title List for these Collections

Top